ADT Inc. (ADT) Stock Analysis

Price updated 3 days ago · SEC data refreshed 3 months ago · Not investment advice

ADT Inc.

ADT Technology Internet Services📄 SEC filings ↗
Valuation N/A
▾ What's in the 45/100 risk score? (higher = riskier)
Fundamental health (43%) 46/100 → +19.7
leverage 62/100 · FCF trend 25/100 · Altman Z not scored — input unavailable (see Financial Health)
Smart money (short interest + insider buying) (31%) 53/100 → +16.7
Macro backdrop (VIX, curve, credit, fear/greed + week-over-week momentum) (26%) 33/100 → +8.5
Total45/100

Contributions (weight × component score) sum to the total. This near-term score now includes fundamental health (leverage, FCF trend). It excludes the Altman Z score, whose retained-earnings input this filer does not report separately. See the Financial Health section for the full balance-sheet read.

💵 Price $7.05 · 3 days ago 📄 Financials SEC EDGAR · refreshed 3 months ago

How to read ADT

We are not publishing an intrinsic value for this one — the section below says exactly why. Everything on this page that comes straight from the filings and the tape is still here; treat the missing valuation as a known gap, not as a verdict on the business.

Where to start — the sections that matter most for this stock
  1. 1 Reported earnings & margins ↓
    What the company actually reported — unaffected by the valuation being held.
  2. 2 Balance sheet & book value ↓
    Assets, liabilities and equity as filed.
  3. 3 Who's selling & betting against it ↓
    Insider and short-interest behaviour needs no valuation model.
Or — what are you trying to decide?
A note on process: fear-driven decisions — including fear of missing out — tend to be the expensive ones. A stock up 10% a day for three days is excitement, not evidence. Whichever reader you are, the data below is there to be checked before anything is decided.
🚀
"It's surging — should I chase it?"
The momentum / FOMO trade. Before you chase, see whether the people who know it best are quietly selling into the rally.
🏷️
"Is it a cheap bargain?"
The deep-value trade. How far below assets and our value it trades — and whether it's cheap for a reason.
ⓘ A share-count quirk blocked the per-share math

The share count we read for ADT looks wrong — common for multi-class / founder-controlled filers that report shares per share-class. That makes per-share figures (including intrinsic value) misleading, so we suppressed them. The company's total financials below are sound.

What to use instead: Lean on the totals — revenue, net income, cash flow — and the balance sheet. Multi-class share counts are being corrected; once fixed, the per-share valuation returns automatically.

This note is only about the single DCF fair-value number — ADT's full financial statements, health scores, and written analysis are all below.

Loading insider & short-seller data…
Checking filings for failure warnings…

Quality & solvency checks

Cheap stocks can be cheap for a reason. These screens warn when a low valuation comes paired with structural fragility.

Altman Z-Score?Altman Z-Score — A bankruptcy-risk score combining 5 financial ratios into one number. Predictive of bankruptcy within 2 years.
Why it matters: Cheap-looking stocks (low P/E or P/B) often have low Z-scores because the market knows the company is dying. Z-score warns you before you fall into a value trap.
Reference: > 3.0 = safe zone · 1.81–3.0 = grey zone · < 1.81 = distress zone
Full explanation →
Not available for this filer

The Z-score needs working capital, retained earnings, EBIT, sales and total assets from the latest balance sheet, and at least one of those isn't reported in machine-readable form here — common for foreign private issuers. We leave it blank rather than compute a distress verdict from an estimated input. It doesn't affect the reported figures in the financial tables below.

Piotroski-style checks (partial — not a standard F-score)
6 passed · 1 failed · 2 n/a
Partial result, not a standard F-score: 6 of 7 measurable checks passed. 2 of the 9 standard checks couldn't be measured, so this is scored out of 7, not 9 — it isn't comparable to a published F-score.
▾ The checks — what passed, what didn't (and what we couldn't measure)
  • Positive net income
    Net income $596.0M in FY2025.
  • Positive operating cash flow
    Operating cash flow $1,884.2M (was $1,884.9M the prior year).
  • Cash flow backs up reported profit
    Operating cash flow $1,884.2M vs net income $596.0M.
  • Return on assets improving
    Return on assets 3.8% vs 3.1% a year ago.
  • Debt load (vs assets)
    Long-term debt is 49.3% of assets vs 48.5% a year ago ($7,799.2M of $15,818.5M assets).
    Why this matters: Rising debt relative to assets means more risk and more cash going to interest instead of shareholders. Falling debt is a sign of strengthening.
  • Short-term liquidity (current ratio)
    Current ratio 0.93x vs 0.80x a year ago — improved, but still below 1.0: the ✓ grades the trend, the level remains a caution flag.
  • · Share count (dilution) (n/a — data not reported; not scored)
  • · Pricing power (gross margin) (n/a — data not reported; not scored)
  • Sales per asset (asset turnover)
    Asset turnover 0.32x vs 0.31x a year ago.

Missing data is never counted as a pass or a fail — it's shown as n/a and excluded from the denominator. Each check compares the company against its own prior year.

Price$7.05
Model IVNot applicable — DCF couldn't price this stock. The other valuation lenses on this page (reverse-DCF, peers, sector lens — whichever apply to this filer) carry the read instead.

Analysis narrative not yet available for this stock.

⚠️ Latest FCF ($1.7B) is 2.8x net income ($0.6B) - using 3yr avg FCF to reduce one-time inflation.

As of 3 months ago

Anatomy of a share

What you're buying per share. Bars are at the same scale so you can see the relative size of revenue, costs, cash flow, and debt — not just read them in a table.

Per-share economics aren't reliable for this filer. Its income statement or share count isn't fully reported to SEC EDGAR (common for foreign private issuers and thinly-disclosed OTC names), so we don't break it down per share here — the figures would be misleading. See the financial tables below for what is reported.

The trend, in plain numbers (FY2024 → FY2025, latest reported)

Straight from the financial statements — no model, no opinion. For a small or unprofitable company, the direction of these numbers usually tells you more than any single valuation.

✅ Improving
  • Revenue grew +5% to $5.13B.
  • Net income grew +19% to $596.0M.

Nothing was clearly worsening year-over-year.

Roughly flat: Free cash flow was roughly flat (within 2%) at $1.65B.

Management & Leadership

Information not yet available. Executive data not available from current data sources.

What They Make

Company description not yet available.

Segment revenue breakdown not available from current data sources.
Beta: 1.10

Why Is It Priced Like This?

No discounted-cash-flow value for this filer We aren't publishing a discounted-cash-flow value here: the model's output failed our plausibility checks, so showing it would imply more precision than we have.

What we use instead: earnings (P/E, EV/EBIT), book value (P/B) — computed from the figures this company does report, shown in the sections below. Those numbers are unaffected by the missing cash-flow data.
Pricing analysis not yet available for this stock.

Business Model & Valuation

Business model analysis not yet available for this stock.

Free Cash Flow DCF

Standard FCF DCF: positive free cash flow in a sector suited for cash-flow-based valuation.

Show advanced inputs
Revenue Growth5.1%
Historical Fcf Growth3.9%
Sector Default12.0%
Best Estimate7.2%
Methodblend(70% revenue_cagr, 30% sector)
Growth Basistotal

What this model does NOT do: this is a consolidated owner-earnings FCF model. Standalone segment assumptions: none. It does not project product, services and recurring/cloud lines independently; their combined effect is embedded in the historical revenue and cash-flow trend the model extrapolates. The calculator above can only approximate a segment's impact through the single consolidated growth rate — it cannot model any one line separately. For a true segment-level view, build a separate model from the company's segment disclosures.

Maturity & Competitive Position

Competitive analysis not yet available for this stock.

Geography & Markets

Geographic revenue mix not available from current data sources.

Market Signals

These are timing signals, not value signals — they describe the stock's recent price behavior, not what the business is worth. Use them for the "the thesis looks good, but is now the moment?" question. Each tile below explains what it's saying.

Model neutral, tape bearish
RSI?RSI — Relative Strength Index — a 0-100 momentum gauge. Above 70 = overbought; below 30 = oversold.
Why it matters: Short-term contrarian indicator. Extreme readings often precede mean reversion, though not always.
Reference: 30–70 normal · >70 overbought · <30 oversold
Full explanation →
(14)
39.0NeutralMomentum is balanced — neither overbought nor oversold.
MACD?MACD — Moving Average Convergence Divergence — compares a fast and a slow price trend to gauge momentum direction.
Why it matters: When the fast line crosses above the slow line, short-term momentum is turning up; below, turning down. A timing cue, not a value signal.
Reference: Line above signal = bullish momentum · below = bearish
Full explanation →
BearishLine below signalThe fast trend is below the slow trend — short-term momentum is currently downward.
50-Day Average$6.90Price above (+2.2%)Price above its 50-day average = near-term uptrend.
200-Day Average$7.86Price belowThe 200-day line is the long-term trend divider — above it is generally considered a bull market for the stock.
50 vs 200 CrossDeath50-day below 200-dayA "death cross" — the medium trend is below the long trend (often read as bearish).

Technicals describe price, not the business. A great company can have a "bearish" tape (a buying chance) and a weak one a "bullish" tape (a trap). Pair these with the valuation and health sections above.

Data Quality & Risk Flags (6 notes — click to expand/collapse)

Guardrail Notes (6)
  • Latest FCF ($1.7B) is 2.8x net income ($0.6B) - using 3yr avg FCF to reduce one-time inflation.
  • Shares from unknown — per-share values may be less accurate.
  • Illiquidity discount 25% applied (small/micro-cap — harder to exit, demand a margin).
  • Shares/market cap missing or defaulted; per-share valuation unreliable.
  • Shares defaulted to 1; IV is NOT meaningful — treat as data-unavailable.
  • DATA UNAVAILABLE: per-share values suppressed due to missing/unreliable shares data.

Financial Statements (5-year tables — click to expand)

From ADT Inc.'s SEC filings (EDGAR).

Income (5yr)

YearRevenueNet IncomeEPS
20255.1B596.0M
20244.9B501.1M
20234.7B463.0M
20224.4B132.7M
20214.2B-340.8M

Cash Flow (5yr)

YearOperating CFCapEx− SBC & adj.Free Cash Flow
2025 1.9B 175.7M 54.6M 1.7B
2024 1.9B 163.8M 48.6M 1.7B
2023 1.7B 176.4M 51.1M 1.4B
2022 1.9B 176.7M 66.6M 1.6B
2021 1.6B 168.2M 61.2M 1.4B

How we define FCF: operating cash flow − capital expenditure − stock-based compensation (owner-earnings basis — SBC is a real cost to shareholders even though it's non-cash). Latest year: 1.9B − 175.7M − 54.6M (SBC & adj.) = 1.7B. This is the same owner-earnings FCF definition the valuation model uses, though the DCF's starting value is a trailing 3-year average, not this single year.

Balance Sheet

Total Assets15.8B
Total Liabilities12.0B
Equity3.8B
Total Debt7.8B

Similar companies worth a look

Same sector and industry, similar fundamentals shape. Verify everything yourself — this list is computed mechanically and does not reflect our judgment about whether any of these are a good investment.

PG
Methodology by Pouyan Golshani, MD — founder of Gighz. Savng was built by a physician for busy professionals: every number on this page comes from SEC filings (EDGAR) and FINRA data through transparent, rules-based models — no analyst opinions, no hidden inputs. How we calculate every number →
⚠️ Not investment advice. Automated model outputs, last refreshed May 30, 2026 (the analysis-refresh date, not the latest filing period). All models have blind spots. Full disclaimer →
🔔 Follow $ADT — free insider alerts
One email when an insider buys $ADT on the open market with their own cash — or notably sells outside a scheduled plan. Routine and automated trades filtered out. Follow up to 3 stocks free; Portfolio Watch covers your whole list plus valuation & risk alerts. Double opt-in, unsubscribe anytime.