LIGHTBRIDGE Corp (LTBR) Stock Analysis

Price updated 2 days ago · SEC data refreshed 3 months ago · Not investment advice

LIGHTBRIDGE Corp

LTBR Basic Materials Industrial Chemicals📄 SEC filings ↗ CUSIP 53224K302
Valuation N/A
▾ What's in the 42/100 risk score? (higher = riskier)
Fundamental health (43%) 20/100 → +8.6
leverage 20/100
Smart money (short interest + insider buying) (31%) 79/100 → +24.8
Macro backdrop (VIX, curve, credit, fear/greed + week-over-week momentum) (26%) 33/100 → +8.5
Total42/100

Contributions (weight × component score) sum to the total. This near-term score now includes fundamental health (leverage, FCF trend). See the Financial Health section for the full balance-sheet read.

💵 Price $6.66 · 2 days ago 📄 Financials SEC EDGAR · refreshed 3 months ago

How to read LTBR (pre-profit growth)

This company is reinvesting instead of generating profit, so a standard DCF cannot price it. The useful question is whether the growth the market is paying for is achievable — and whether the company can fund itself until then.

Where to start — the sections that matter most for this stock
  1. 1 Reverse-DCF — the growth the price demands ↓
    It shows exactly how fast the business must grow to justify today's price. Compare that to what comparable companies have actually achieved.
  2. 2 Cash runway ↓
    Can it reach profitability before it has to raise money and dilute shareholders?
  3. 3 Interactive calculator ↓
    Set your own growth + margin assumptions and see what the business would be worth if you are right.
Or — what are you trying to decide?
A note on process: fear-driven decisions — including fear of missing out — tend to be the expensive ones. A stock up 10% a day for three days is excitement, not evidence. Whichever reader you are, the data below is there to be checked before anything is decided.
🚀
"It's surging — should I chase it?"
The momentum / FOMO trade. Before you chase, see whether the people who know it best are quietly selling into the rally.
🏷️
"Is it a cheap bargain?"
The deep-value trade. How far below assets and our value it trades — and whether it's cheap for a reason.
ⓘ A share-count quirk blocked the per-share math

The share count we read for LTBR looks wrong — common for multi-class / founder-controlled filers that report shares per share-class. That makes per-share figures (including intrinsic value) misleading, so we suppressed them. The company's total financials below are sound.

What to use instead: Lean on the totals — revenue, net income, cash flow — and the balance sheet. Multi-class share counts are being corrected; once fixed, the per-share valuation returns automatically.

This note is only about the single DCF fair-value number — LTBR's full financial statements, health scores, and written analysis are all below.

ⓘ Why does LTBR trade at $6.66?

LIGHTBRIDGE Corp has 24.5 million shares outstanding. At $6.66 per share, the market values all outstanding LTBR equity at $163 million. That's market capitalization, not enterprise value — enterprise value also accounts for debt and cash (LTBR carries little or no debt, so the two are close here). The share price by itself tells you almost nothing — a company can pick any share price by splitting or issuing more shares. What matters is the total value (Market Cap?Market Cap — The total dollar value the market is assigning to the entire company.
Why it matters: This is the number that actually matters when comparing companies. Two companies with the same business but different share counts have the same market cap.
Reference: Mega cap >$200B · Large $10–200B · Mid $2–10B · Small $300M–2B · Micro <$300M
Full explanation →
) compared to what the business actually produces. This page values LTBR in Per Share?Per Share — A company-level figure divided by total shares — what one share represents.
Why it matters: Per-share metrics are the only way to fairly compare two companies with different share counts.
Full explanation →
economics — what each share represents of the underlying business. Play with the share-price calculator on the homepage →

Loading insider & short-seller data…
Checking filings for failure warnings…

How does LTBR stack up against its closest peers?

We take the 7 same-industry companies most similar to LTBR (similar size) and check what investors are paying for each dollar of their revenue (or profits). If LTBR is much more expensive on the same yardstick, that's a red flag — unless you have a specific reason it deserves a premium. For a leveraged business, EV/EBIT and FCF yield (both in the table) are usually more reliable than EV/Sales, because revenue multiples ignore differences in margins and debt.

▾ What's "EV / Sales" in plain English?

EV (Enterprise Value) = market cap + total debt − cash. It's "what you'd pay to buy the entire company outright" — you pay the market cap to shareholders and take over their debt, but you keep their cash. EV is fairer than market cap alone because it includes the debt the new owner inherits.

EV / Sales = EV ÷ annual revenue. So "2.5×" means investors pay $2.50 of enterprise value per $1 of yearly sales. Higher = market is paying more per dollar of sales (usually because they expect future growth or fat margins).

p25 / median / p75 are the 25th, 50th (middle), and 75th percentile of the peers' multiples. Half the peers fall between p25 and p75. The median (p50) is the typical peer — that's the benchmark we compare to.

What peers trade at (p25 / median / p75)
EV / Sales?EV / Sales — For every $1 of yearly revenue, this is how many dollars investors pay to own the whole business (including debt).
Why it matters: Works for pre-profit growth companies where P/E and FCF don't apply. The most apples-to-apples cross-company multiple because it ignores accounting choices.
Reference: 1–3x for mature companies · 4–10x for software/SaaS · 10–20x for hypergrowth · >20x is rare and demanding
Full explanation →
1.2x / 1.6x / 1.9x
EV / Gross Profit?EV / Gross Profit — Enterprise value divided by gross profit — the multiple paid for what each dollar of sales contributes after direct costs.
Why it matters: More refined than EV/Sales for high-margin businesses (software, marketplaces) where gross margin is the real economic engine.
Reference: 8–15x for SaaS · 15–25x for hypergrowth software · >30x demanding
Full explanation →
1.4x / 5.8x / 7.1x
EV / EBIT?EV / EBITDA — Enterprise value divided by earnings before interest, tax, depreciation, and amortization.
Why it matters: A classic "what would a private buyer pay" multiple — used in M&A. Strips out tax and capital-structure noise.
Reference: 8–12x for mature businesses · 15–25x for growth · Below 5x often signals distress
Full explanation →
6.4x / 20.0x / 27.8x

Bold middle number = median peer. Half the peers trade above it, half below. Computed over 7 same-industry peers; implausible multiples excluded.

Peer-implied value check
Peer-implied price isn't available for LTBR right now. The multiples table above still works as context.

⚠️ Important caveat: peer multiples only work if the peers are genuinely comparable. Always check the peer list below — if the auto-picker grabbed micro-caps or unrelated businesses, the comparison is noise. A medical-device giant priced against tiny biotech startups won't produce a useful signal.

▾ View peer list (7)
Ticker Company Industry Mcap EV/Sales EV/GPEV/EBIT FCF Yield
CITR CitroTech Inc. Industrial Chemicals $147M 61.9x 0.2%
ACNT ASCENT INDUSTRIES CO. Industrial Chemicals $122M 1.6x 7.1x 9.0%
NL NL INDUSTRIES INC Industrial Chemicals $297M 1.9x 6.2x27.8x 6.9%
LOOP Loop Industries, Inc. Industrial Chemicals $67M 6.5x 0.7%
VHI VALHI INC /DE/ Industrial Chemicals $402M 0.2x 1.4x6.4x 3.4%
LXFR LUXFER HOLDINGS PLC Industrial Chemicals $456M 1.2x 5.4x20.0x 3.7%
ADUR ADURO CLEAN TECHNOLOGIES INC. Industrial Chemicals $499M

Quality & solvency checks

Cheap stocks can be cheap for a reason. These screens warn when a low valuation comes paired with structural fragility.

Altman Z-Score?Altman Z-Score — A bankruptcy-risk score combining 5 financial ratios into one number. Predictive of bankruptcy within 2 years.
Why it matters: Cheap-looking stocks (low P/E or P/B) often have low Z-scores because the market knows the company is dying. Z-score warns you before you fall into a value trap.
Reference: > 3.0 = safe zone · 1.81–3.0 = grey zone · < 1.81 = distress zone
Full explanation →
Not available for this filer

The Z-score needs working capital, retained earnings, EBIT, sales and total assets from the latest balance sheet, and at least one of those isn't reported in machine-readable form here — common for foreign private issuers. We leave it blank rather than compute a distress verdict from an estimated input. It doesn't affect the reported figures in the financial tables below.

Piotroski-style checks (partial — not a standard F-score)
4 passed · 3 failed · 2 n/a
Partial result, not a standard F-score: 4 of 7 measurable checks passed. 2 of the 9 standard checks couldn't be measured, so this is scored out of 7, not 9 — it isn't comparable to a published F-score.
▾ The checks — what passed, what didn't (and what we couldn't measure)
  • Positive net income
    Net income -$19.6M in FY2025.
    Why this matters: Does the company actually earn a profit? Sustained losses eventually force it to raise money — diluting you — or take on debt.
  • Positive operating cash flow
    Operating cash flow -$14.3M (was -$9.5M the prior year).
    Why this matters: Profit can be an accounting figure; cash from running the business is harder to fake. Negative operating cash flow means the core business consumes cash and must be funded externally.
  • Cash flow backs up reported profit
    Operating cash flow -$14.3M vs net income -$19.6M.
  • Return on assets improving
    Return on assets -9.6% vs -28.8% a year ago.
  • Debt load (vs assets)
    The filing reports no interest-bearing debt in either year (total assets $203.8M).
  • Short-term liquidity (current ratio)
    Current ratio 239.04x vs 94.95x a year ago.
  • Share count (dilution)
    Share count rose 69.2% (14.5M → 24.5M year-over-year).
    Why this matters: Issuing lots of new shares splits the pie into more pieces, shrinking your slice. Stable or falling share count protects existing owners.
  • · Pricing power (gross margin) (n/a — data not reported; not scored)
  • · Sales per asset (asset turnover) (n/a — data not reported; not scored)

Missing data is never counted as a pass or a fail — it's shown as n/a and excluded from the denominator. Each check compares the company against its own prior year.

Cash Runway
14.1 yrs
COMFORTABLE — 2+ years at the current burn

Plain English: the company holds about $202M in cash and is burning roughly $14M/year in operations. At that pace, the cash lasts 14.1 yrs before it must raise capital (diluting shareholders), take on debt, or cut spending.

Assumes constant burn and ignores financing/asset sales. For pre-profit biotech and growth companies, this matters more than a DCF — a great drug pipeline is worthless if they run out of money before approval.

Price$6.66
Model IVNot applicable — DCF couldn't price this stock. The other valuation lenses on this page (reverse-DCF, peers, sector lens — whichever apply to this filer) carry the read instead.

A standard discounted cash flow?DCF — Discounted Cash Flow — sums up all future cash a business will produce, adjusted for the fact that future dollars are worth less than dollars today.
Why it matters: It is the most fundamentally honest valuation method when applicable — but only works for companies with predictable, positive cash flow.
Reference: Best for: mature, profitable businesses. Fails for: pre-profit growth, banks, REITs.
Full explanation →
(DCF) valuation is not meaningful for Lightbridge Corporation due to its consistently negative operating cash flow and net income, indicating a cash-burning growth stage. Investors are likely focused on the company's progress in developing and commercializing its advanced nuclear fuel technology, betting on future product pipeline success and the optionality of its intellectual property. The primary quantifiable risk is the continued negative operating cash flow, which necessitates ongoing funding.

⚠️ Cyclical sector: using normalized cash flow (median OCF minus estimated maintenance capex).

As of 3 months ago

Anatomy of a share

What you're buying per share. Bars are at the same scale so you can see the relative size of revenue, costs, cash flow, and debt — not just read them in a table.

LTBR LIGHTBRIDGE Corp stock anatomy showing per-share revenue, operating expenses, free cash flow, and debt
What's free cash flow / what do these mean?

Revenue per share — how much the business earns from customers, divided by the number of shares outstanding. Top of the income statement.

Earnings per share — profit left after operating costs, interest, and taxes, per share. Two versions appear on this page and are not interchangeable: GAAP diluted EPS uses the company's weighted-average diluted share count during the reporting period (this is the "earnings" in "price-to-earnings"); net income per current share divides annual net income by today's share count. They differ whenever the share count has changed.

Owner-earnings free cash flow per share — the cash the business produces for shareholders. Savng's owner-earnings FCF subtracts capital expenditures and stock-based compensation from operating cash flow (SBC is a real dilution cost even though it's non-cash). This is deliberately more conservative than "standard" FCF, which subtracts only capital expenditures — so our figure is lower than the headline FCF you'll see elsewhere. FCF funds dividends, buybacks, debt repayment, and acquisitions; a company can report positive earnings yet negative FCF.

Debt per share — total interest-bearing borrowings divided by shares. High debt-per-share next to thin FCF-per-share is a fragility signal.

What you actually need to decide

Every stock price is a disagreement. Here's the single thing that must go right for the bulls, the single thing that breaks the thesis, and the concrete signposts to watch so you can update your view as real results arrive.

🐂 The Bull Case
The stock could work if Lightbridge's advanced fuel designs achieve regulatory approval and secure significant commercial contracts, leading to a clear path to positive operating cash flow.
🐻 The Bear Case
The biggest fundamental risk is the continued negative operating cash flow, which, if sustained, will necessitate further dilutive equity raises to fund operations.
📌 Signposts to watch — update your view as these print
  • Progress in regulatory approval for fuel designs
  • Announcement of new development or licensing agreements
  • Updates on fuel irradiation testing results

The trend, in plain numbers (FY2024 → FY2025, latest reported)

Straight from the financial statements — no model, no opinion. For a small or unprofitable company, the direction of these numbers usually tells you more than any single valuation.

⚠ Worsening
  • Free cash flow is negative at -$20.1M — the cash burn widened vs last year.
  • Still unprofitable at -$19.6M — loss widening.

Nothing was clearly improving year-over-year.

Management & Leadership

Seth Grae serves as the President and CEO of Lightbridge Corporation, a role he has held for many years, guiding the company's strategic direction in nuclear fuel development. Andrey Mushakov is the Executive Vice President for International Programs, and James Guerra is the Chief Financial Officer.

Seth Grae
President and Chief Executive Officer
Andrey Mushakov
Executive Vice President, International Programs

What They Make

Lightbridge Corporation develops proprietary advanced nuclear fuel designs that aim to enhance the safety and economic performance of existing and new nuclear reactors. Their primary customers are nuclear power utilities and reactor vendors.

End Markets

Nuclear Power GenerationAdvanced Reactor TechnologyEnergy Security

Revenue Drivers

Licensing of fuel designs
Joint development agreements
Future fuel fabrication royalties
Market Cap: 163.3MBeta: 2.04

Why Is It Priced Like This?

Why Customers Pay

Improved reactor safety
Increased power output
Extended fuel cycle length
No discounted-cash-flow value for this filer This company's reported free cash flow is negative, so a discounted-cash-flow valuation has no positive cash stream to discount. That is a fact about the business, not missing data — the reported figures below are complete.

What we use instead: earnings (P/E, EV/EBIT), book value (P/B) — computed from the figures this company does report, shown in the sections below. Those numbers are unaffected by the missing cash-flow data.

The market prices Lightbridge based on expectations for its future product pipeline and the potential for its advanced nuclear fuel technology to gain regulatory approval and commercial adoption. Given the company's negative operating cash flow and net income, current profitability is not a factor; instead, investors are betting on the long-term optionality and disruptive potential of its intellectual property in the nuclear energy sector.

Business Model & Valuation

How They Make Money

Licensing intellectual property for advanced nuclear fuels
Collaborative research and development agreements
Potential future royalties from fuel fabrication

The company funds its operations primarily through equity raises, as indicated by its negative operating cash flow and lack of dividends or buybacks.

Normalized FCF

Cyclical/commodity sector (Industrial Chemicals) with negative current FCF: normalized FCF uses multi-year median to smooth through the cycle.

Show advanced inputs
Sector Default5.0%
Best Estimate5.0%
Methodsector_default
Growth Basistotal

What this model does NOT do: this is a consolidated owner-earnings FCF model. Standalone segment assumptions: none. It does not project production volumes, realized commodity prices and unit cash costs independently; their combined effect is embedded in the historical revenue and cash-flow trend the model extrapolates. The calculator above can only approximate a segment's impact through the single consolidated growth rate — it cannot model any one line separately. For a true segment-level view, build a separate model from the company's segment disclosures.

Maturity & Competitive Position

Early-stage growth company

Moat Signals

Proprietary nuclear fuel designs
Extensive patent portfolio
Specialized expertise in nuclear materials

The company has reported negative net income and operating cash flow in its latest period and has been profitable in 0 out of the last 5 years.

Geography & Markets

Lightbridge is headquartered in the US and focuses on developing nuclear fuel technology for global markets, particularly in countries with existing or developing nuclear power programs. Exact geographic revenue splits are not available in current filings.

Geographic Risks

Regulatory approval risk in multiple jurisdictions
Concentration risk in the highly specialized nuclear energy industry

Market Signals

These are timing signals, not value signals — they describe the stock's recent price behavior, not what the business is worth. Use them for the "the thesis looks good, but is now the moment?" question. Each tile below explains what it's saying.

Model neutral, tape bearish
RSI?RSI — Relative Strength Index — a 0-100 momentum gauge. Above 70 = overbought; below 30 = oversold.
Why it matters: Short-term contrarian indicator. Extreme readings often precede mean reversion, though not always.
Reference: 30–70 normal · >70 overbought · <30 oversold
Full explanation →
(14)
46.2NeutralMomentum is balanced — neither overbought nor oversold.
MACD?MACD — Moving Average Convergence Divergence — compares a fast and a slow price trend to gauge momentum direction.
Why it matters: When the fast line crosses above the slow line, short-term momentum is turning up; below, turning down. A timing cue, not a value signal.
Reference: Line above signal = bullish momentum · below = bearish
Full explanation →
BearishLine below signalThe fast trend is below the slow trend — short-term momentum is currently downward.
50-Day Average$11.83Price below (-43.7%)Price below its 50-day average = near-term downtrend.
200-Day Average$15.63Price belowThe 200-day line is the long-term trend divider — above it is generally considered a bull market for the stock.
50 vs 200 CrossDeath50-day below 200-dayA "death cross" — the medium trend is below the long trend (often read as bearish).

Technicals describe price, not the business. A great company can have a "bearish" tape (a buying chance) and a weak one a "bullish" tape (a trap). Pair these with the valuation and health sections above.

Data Quality & Risk Flags (8 notes — click to expand/collapse)

Guardrail Notes (7)
  • Median OCF is negative — OCF-based normalization not applicable.
  • Normalized OCF-capex was negative. Falling back to median raw FCF.
  • No positive normalized FCF. Using EPS as proxy.
  • Model implies no positive equity value under these assumptions. Valuation is speculative/low-confidence.
  • Illiquidity discount 7% applied (small/micro-cap — harder to exit, demand a margin).
  • Extreme valuation (P/IV withheld — see the note above); output dominated by data/units issue (often a multi-class share-count mismatch). Suppressed.
  • DATA UNAVAILABLE: per-share values suppressed due to missing/unreliable shares data.

Financial Statements (5-year tables — click to expand)

From LIGHTBRIDGE Corp's SEC filings (EDGAR).

Income (5yr)

YearRevenueNet IncomeEPS
2025-19.6M$-0.80
2024-11.8M$-0.81
2023-7.9M$-0.65
2022-7.5M$-0.69
2021-7.8M$-1.71

Cash Flow (5yr)

Capital expenditure isn't tagged in this filer's machine-readable data (the CapEx column shows "—"). The free-cash-flow column is therefore operating cash flow less stock-based compensation only — an upper bound on true owner earnings, not the real figure. Companies that report capex under a custom label (some large IFRS filers do) look better here than they are.

YearOperating CFCapEx− SBC & adj.Free Cash Flow
2025 -14.3M 5.8M -20.1M
2024 -9.5M 2.1M -11.6M
2023 -6.5M 1.3M -7.7M
2022 -6.8M 3.5M -10.3M
2021 -11.0M 3.1M -14.1M

How we define FCF: operating cash flow − capital expenditure − stock-based compensation (owner-earnings basis — SBC is a real cost to shareholders even though it's non-cash). Latest year: -14.3M − — − 5.8M (SBC & adj.) = -20.1M. This is the same owner-earnings FCF definition the valuation model uses, though the DCF's starting value is a mid-cycle estimate (median operating cash flow less estimated maintenance capex and stock compensation — by design NOT the table's FCF, which deducts every year's full capex), not this single year.

Balance Sheet

Total Assets203.8M
Total Liabilities847,451 (derived)
Equity203.0M

Similar companies worth a look

Same sector and industry, similar fundamentals shape. Verify everything yourself — this list is computed mechanically and does not reflect our judgment about whether any of these are a good investment.

PG
Methodology by Pouyan Golshani, MD — founder of Gighz. Savng was built by a physician for busy professionals: every number on this page comes from SEC filings (EDGAR) and FINRA data through transparent, rules-based models — no analyst opinions, no hidden inputs. How we calculate every number →
⚠️ Not investment advice. Automated model outputs, last refreshed May 30, 2026 (the analysis-refresh date, not the latest filing period). All models have blind spots. Full disclaimer →
🔔 Follow $LTBR — free insider alerts
One email when an insider buys $LTBR on the open market with their own cash — or notably sells outside a scheduled plan. Routine and automated trades filtered out. Follow up to 3 stocks free; Portfolio Watch covers your whole list plus valuation & risk alerts. Double opt-in, unsubscribe anytime.